Holding hands in praise

Breadcrumb Navigation

Richard M. DeVos Distinguished Alumni Award

The Richard M. DeVos Distinguished Alumni Award is presented annually to recognize alumni of Grand Rapids Christian Schools who embody the Schools' values, characteristics, and commitment to being servants of Christ in contemporary society. This award serves to bring honor to the school community and advance the mission of the Schools.

The award is named in honor of Richard M. DeVos in recognition of his shared devotion to Christian education and his generous support to various non-profit organizations that have benefited individuals worldwide. Richard and his wife, Helen, have strengthened our schools, revitalized our spirits, and impacted lives for generations to come.


Photo of Richard M. DeVos

2014-2015 Recipient:
Richard M. DeVos
-Class of 1944-

Photo of Douglas Nagel

2015-2016 Recipient:
Douglas J. Nagel
-Class of 1950-

Photo of Dave and Carol VanAndel

2016-2017 Recipients:
David & Carol Van Andel
-Class of 1977-

Photo of Jim Haveman

2017-2018 Recipient:
James Haveman, Jr.
-Class of 1961-

2019 Rick and Deb Start

2018-2019 Recipients:
Rick & Deb Start
-Class of 1976-

Olivia Haverkamp

2019-2020 Recipients:
Olivia Haverkamp
-Class of 2019-

Sid Jansma, Jr.

2023 Recipient:
Sid Jansma, Jr.
-Class of 1961-